Saint Petersburg • DanceTravelRussia

St. Petersburg is the second largest city in Russia.

Peter the Great founded the city in 1703 and from 1712 to 1918 it was the capital of the Russian Empire.

The city is named after Saint Peter, the saint patron, but over time, the name has become associated with the name of Peter I himself, the founder of the city.

 

St. Petersburg’s population is over 5 million people. St. Petersburg is considered the cultural capital of Russia. The city combines the elegance of Europe and the luxury of Asia –a wonderful open-air museum.

St. Petersburg was built much later than other European cities according to a plan created by best architect of 18th century. The architectural styles of St. Petersburg incorporated the best traditions of Italian, Dutch and German architecture with a flavour of Russian culture.

Architecture of St. Petersburg has no analogues in the global architectural environment and in spite its stylistic diversity looks elegant and magnificent.

St. Petersburg is an important economic, scientific and cultural center. The historical center of the city and related monuments are included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites; it is one of the most important touristic centers in the country. The most significant cultural and touristic places are: the Hermitage, the Kunstkamera, the Mariinsky Theatre, the Russian National Library, the Russian Museum, the Peter and Paul Fortress, St. Isaac’s Cathedral, Nevsky Prospect and many others.

St. Petersburg is considered the “Cultural Capital” of Russia. The city has 8464 historical and cultural monuments.

More than 200 museums and their branches operate in St. Petersburg (including the Hermitage. There about three million objects of art and monuments in these museums. Among them are the State Russian Museum (the largest museum of Russian art), the Central Naval Museum, the Museum of the Russian Academy of Arts, the Sculpture City Museum, the History Museum of St. Petersburg, Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (the Kunstkamera) , the palaces and parks of Peterhof, Oranienbaum, Tsarskoye Selo, Pavlovsk, “Pushkinskaya 10” Art Center, a contemporary art museum Erarta Museum. There are over 70 theatres in St.Petersburg: Mariinsky Theatre, Alexandrinsky Theatre, Mikhailovsky Theatre, Bolshoi Drama Theatre named after G.A. Tovstonogov, Maly Drama Theatre (Theatre of Europe), St. Petersburg Academic Theatre named after Lensoviet, “The Baltic House”, Academic Drama Theatre named after V. F. Komissarzhevskaya, the Big St. Petersburg State Circus and many others. 1100 libraries located in the city, among them: the Russian National Library (Public), the Library of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Presidential Library named after Boris N. Yeltsin etc. There are several art and music universities: the St. Petersburg Conservatory named after Rimsky-Korsakov, the Russian Ballet Academy named after A. Y. Vaganova, Russian State Institute of Performing Arts, Repin Institute of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture, Stieglitz Art and Industry Academy, Roerich Art College.

1000 exhibitions and around 300 festivals take place annually in St.Petersburg, among them: the Mariinsky International Ballet Festival, the White Nights Stars International Festival, international winter festival “the Square of Arts”, “the Dance Open” international ballet festival, and international music festival “Palaces of St. Petersburg”, the international jazz festival “White Night Swing”, the international art festival “From the Avant-garde to the Present Day”, the international film festival “Festival of Festivals”, the international bike festival, the “Baltic Theatre” International Festival, the International – competition “Festival of Childhood”, and other theatre, music, dance and ballet festivals.

In December 2016, St. Petersburg received a prestigious “World Travel Award” at the World’s Leading Cultural City Destination 2016 nomination.

In 2018, over 8.5 million tourists visited St. Petersburg.

Close Menu

Санкт-Петербург • DanceTravelRussia

Санкт-Петербург – второй по численности город России.

Санкт-Петербург основан в 1703 году Петром Первым и с 1712 по 1918 являлся столицей Российского государства.

Город назван в честь Святого Петра, небесного покровителя царя-основателя, но со временем название стало всё больше ассоциироваться с именем самого Петра I, основателя города.

Санкт-Петербург — самый северный в мире город с населением более одного миллиона человек. Также Санкт-Петербург является самым западным городом-миллионником России. Среди городов, полностью расположенных в Европе, он является третьим по населению.

Санкт-Петербург — культурная столица мира, город, сумевший объединить изысканность Европы и сверкающую роскошь Азии, музей под открытым небом, неизменно вызывающий восхищение.

Возникнув намного позже других европейских городов, Санкт-Петербург стал одним из самых великолепных городов на всем земном шаре. Архитектурные стили Петербурга многолики и вобрали в себя лучшие традиции итальянского, голландского и немецкого зодчества, проведя их сквозь призму русской культуры.

Несмотря на все свое стилистическое разнообразие, архитектура Петербурга узнаваема и самобытна и не имеет аналогов в мировой архитектурной среде.

Санкт-Петербург — важный экономический, научный и культурный центр. Исторический центр города и связанные с ним комплексы памятников входят в список объектов всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО; это один из самых важных в стране центров туризма. Среди наиболее значимых культурно-туристических объектов: Эрмитаж, Кунсткамера, Мариинский театр, Российская национальная библиотека, Русский музей, Петропавловская крепость, Исаакиевский собор, Невский проспект и многие другие.

Санкт-Петербург является культурным центром мирового значения, часто его называют «Культурной столицей» России. В городе располагаются 8464 объекта культурного наследия (памятники истории и культуры).

В Санкт-Петербурге работают свыше 200 музеев и их филиалов (в том числе Эрмитаж (около трёх миллионов произведений искусства и памятников мировой культуры), Русский музей (самый обширный музей русского искусства), Центральный военно-морской музей, музей Академии художеств России, музей городской скульптуры, музей истории Санкт-Петербурга, музей антропологии и этнографии имени Петра Великого (Кунсткамера), дворцово-парковые музеи-заповедники Петергофа, Ораниенбаума, Царского Села, Павловска, Арт-центр «Пушкинская, 10», музей современного искусства Эрарта, Всероссийский музей А. С. Пушкина, более 70 театров (в том числе Мариинский театр, Александринский театр, Михайловский театр, Большой драматический театр имени Г. А. Товстоногова, , Малый драматический (Театр Европы), Санкт-Петербургский академический театр имени Ленсовета, «Балтийский дом», Академический драматический театр имени В. Ф. Комиссаржевской, театр клоунады «Лицедеи», Большой Санкт-Петербургский государственный цирк и многие другие); 1100 библиотек (крупнейшие среди них Российская национальная библиотека (Публичная), Библиотека Российской академии наук, Президентская библиотека имени Б. Н. Ельцина. В Санкт-Петербурге несколько творческих вузов: Санкт-Петербургская консерватория имени Римского-Корсакова, Академия Русского балета имени А. Я. Вагановой, Российский государственный институт сценических искусств, Санкт-Петербургский институт живописи, скульптуры и архитектуры имени Репина, Санкт-Петербургская художественно-промышленная академия имени Штиглица , Санкт-Петербургское художественное училище имени Рериха, действуют около 10 киностудий.

В Санкт-Петербурге ежегодно проходит более 1000 выставок, почти 300 фестивалей, среди них: международный фестиваль балета «Мариинский», международный фестиваль искусств «Звёзды белых ночей», международный зимний фестиваль «Площадь Искусств», международный фестиваль балета «Dance Open», международный музыкальный фестиваль «Дворцы Санкт-Петербурга», международный фестиваль джаза «Свинг белой ночи», международный фестиваль искусств «От авангарда до наших дней», международный кинофестиваль «Фестиваль Фестивалей», международный фестиваль байкеров в Ольгино, международный театральный фестиваль «Балтийский дом», международный конкурс-фестиваль детско-юношеского творчества «Праздник детства», другие театральные, музыкальные, танцевальные и балетные фестивали.

В декабре 2016 года Санкт-Петербург получил престижную награду в области туриндустрии World Travel Awards в номинации World’s Leading Cultural City Destination 2016, в русскоязычных источниках получившей название «Туристическая столица мира».

В 2018 году Санкт-Петербург посетили около 8,5 миллионов туристов.

Закрыть меню